Notice: Undefined index: SERIF in /data/site/text.html on line 41

Notice: Undefined index: SERIF in /data/site/text.html on line 42

Notice: Undefined index: SERIF in /data/site/text.html on line 43
White Columns
History of White Columns
White Columns is New York's oldest alternative art space. It was founded in 1970 by a group of artists including Jeffrey Lew and Gordon Matta-Clark as an experimental platform for art. Originally located in SoHo (and known as the 112 Workshop/112 Greene Street), the organization was renamed White Columns when it moved to Spring Street in 1979. In 1991 White Columns moved to Christopher Street in the West Village, and in 1998 the gallery relocated to the borders of the West Village and Meat Packing District. In April 2018, White Columns re-opened in a new location at 91 Horatio Street adjacent to the new Whitney Museum of American Art and The High-Line.

White Columns presents an ongoing program of exhibitions, projects, talks, screenings, and events. Additionally it has a record label 'The Sound of White Columns' that releases vinyl-only recordings by artist-performers. White Columns is a not-for-profit gallery which is open to the public, free-of-charge, eleven months per year.

White Columns provides support to artists who have yet to benefit from wider critical, curatorial or commercial attention.

Over the past forty-nine years, hundreds of artists have benefited from early exposure and support at White Columns, including: Gordon Matta-Clark, Jene Highstein, Barry Le Va, Alice Aycock, Richard Nonas, Jackie Winsor, Willoughby Sharp, Susan Rothenberg, Kiki Smith, Harmony Hammond, William Wegman, Peter Fend, Sonic Youth, Barbara Ess, John Miller, David Robbins, Jack Goldstein, John Stezaker, David Wojnarowicz, Michael Smith, Douglas Blau, Ashley Bickerton, Group Material, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Andres Serrano, Fred Wilson, Sturtevant, Cady Noland, ACT-UP, Lorna Simpson, John Currin, Sean Landers, Verne Dawson, Marlene McCarty, Lutz Bacher, Tom Burr, Jim Hodges, Glenn Ligon, Jack Pierson, Kathe Burkhart, Richard Phillips, Sarah Sze, and Aida Ruilova, Judy Linn, Eileen Quinlan, Dodie Bellamy, Kevin Killian, John Stezaker, William Scott, Luke Fowler, Steven Claydon, Lars Laumann, Alexandre Singh, Margaret Lee, Ella Kruglyanskaya, Marlon Mullen, Derrick Alexis Coard, Magdalena Suarez Frimkess, Bill Lynch, Gerasimos Floratos, and Aliza Nisenbaum, amongst many others.